Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

Just bought first Kuga. Love it, I’ve been reading up in AWD v FWD winter tyres etc.....anyhow just bought some used Audi wheels with 225 55 17 winter tyres as we’re going very cheap. Can anyone confirm, or not if these can be used on the Kuga (on appropriate 17 inch rims yet to be acquired) thanks for any help in advance

·
Registered
985 Posts
Check the sticker on the door frame below the drivers door latch. It gives you the sizes, I believe.
Welcome and enjoy.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Thanks Psshaw

235 55 17 recommended, I cannot see why a 225 would make too much difference yet no expert hence seeking views

·
Registered
436 Posts
Difference is 12 revs more per mile, (742 for 235, 754 for 225)

So speedo will say 70, actual speed 68.7

·
Registered
985 Posts
I’m no expert but there are those two n here that can help. Give them time.
Wrong speed indicated and abs malfunction warning?

·
Registered
503 Posts
You need to tell your insurance company if tyre sizes are different to manufacturer recommendations. That will possibly be for all winter tyres where cars have a V or higher speed rating. All the winter tyres I saw for my car when making a foreign trip where H rated.

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
Thanks all!

Speed rating on the tyres is V so no issues I think. Less rubber on the road I suppose, not aware of abs issues. Hopefully shouldn’t cause other issues?

·
Registered
2,266 Posts
Hi all,

Just bought first Kuga. Love it, I’ve been reading up in AWD v FWD winter tyres etc.....anyhow just bought some used Audi wheels with 225 55 17 winter tyres as we’re going very cheap. Can anyone confirm, or not if these can be used on the Kuga (on appropriate 17 inch rims yet to be acquired) thanks for any help in advance