Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

There's a FB group called Ford Kuga Owners - Discussions: https://www.facebook.com/groups/595750127221703/

A lot of folks there seem to complain about their AUTO gearbox serious damage and having to replace it.

I can't help but wonder WTH is that all about. :unsure::oops:

I've been driving cars with auto transmission for more than 20 years and never ever had an issue with any gear-box, let alone having to replace the entire gear-box.

So, is this smth. specific to MK2 EcoBoost and 6F35 auto...? Anything I should be aware of, any "known issues"...?

I'm asking, as I bought mine just a few months ago and would highly appreciate your feedback.

Cheers

·
Registered
23 Posts
I know there were a lot of complaints about the older powershift auto boxes but your MK2 ecoboost should be using the normal torque converter auto box instead of the powershift and haven't really heard of anyone complaining about it yet.

·
Registered
105 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I know there were a lot of complaints about the older powershift auto boxes but your MK2 ecoboost should be using the normal torque converter auto box instead of the powershift and haven't really heard of anyone complaining about it yet.
Powershift is a dual-clutch system ONLY used on diesel 180HP models. 6F35 is the "classical" Torque converter system, which is exactly why I opted for it. My Q is still the same though, as folks were complaining about THIS gear-box, not the Powershift.

·
Registered
2,156 Posts
What are they saying? It's a closed group so the posts aren't visible.

I have seen posts of 6F35 problems on US Escape forums, but they're 99% ("guesstimate") vehicles with high mileage and unknown/ poor service history. The failure numbers are also very low given one forum I'm on has 22000 members.