Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
I'm a newbie so please be nice

I've a couple of questions which hopefully you experienced owners can answer for me.....

* What sort of control of an Ipod would i get with the Sony DAB radio, will i be able to scroll through tracks from the steering wheel (i appreciate i won't be able to seee track lists etc) and do i need the USB extra for this or would the standard 3.5mm jack be enough ??

* I've got a normal portable TomTom satnav which i'll be continuing to use, i'll be needing a power socket for it but can only see one power socket around the drivers seat area which is near the handbrake, i don't want cables stretching across the gearstick to the window mounted Tomtom so does anyone know of any closer power outlets or alternatives which will make it tidier ???? (i was thinking of threading my own power cable through the small accessory tray under the windscreen ?!?!?!?

If anyone can offer any advice then i'd be very appreciative

Cheers

·
Registered
296 Posts
Hi curtlyb,
First of all welcome to the forum, I'm sure everyone will make you feel welcome.

I don't have my Kuga yet (only 2 weeks to go hopefully) but in response to one of your queries, the 3.5mm aux input will allow any mp3 device including any ipod to play music through the Stereo (both Sony & Ford unit). If you want to change tracks / albums etc on the ipod then you will need the USB option, which allows you to control the ipod (possibly only certain models) through the stereo controls. The USB option also allows you to plug in a USB memory stick with your music on and some portable USB hard drives, all of which are controlled through the stereo controls. I'm sure someone who has there Kuga will be able to verify this but try searching some other threads on ipod and USB and you will see the possibilities and required leads etc.

Regards
Ursus

·
Registered
79 Posts
Hi curtlyb,