Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Help needed please.

I live in Scotland but I am often in England far from home. I am the daughter of an engineer sadly no longer with us. I am no mechanic :)

My Kuga 2ltr diesel AWD 62 plate manual 148bhp I think,. 128,500 miles.
Yesterday the engine management light came on. Still drives as always, guages all normal.
I check oil - just right but needs an oil change.
Last serviced September and oil service light has been on since as maindealer forgot to reset it.

I went to a local garage this morning who put two additives in my tank and said after work drive at 2500 revs for an hour then review.

Driving to work 8 miles approx the engine malfunction light came on. I checked and was advised to follow plan.
I guess limp mode happened a lot less power and max speed 73mph. Otherwise all as usual.

My husband has a Ford Transit Custom van - he has just had a similar experience and cured by a vapouriser.
I mentioned this to local guy who didn't know what I was talking about (we had the same problem initially in Scotland).

Got to where I am staying and found this forum and discovered that the Kuga appears to have a vapouriser too !

Please can someone who knows confirm.
Could this possibly solve my problem?
I need to drive back Harrogate to Inverness Friday night and Tuesday due to flight and train chaos I need to drive my elderly mother and two moody teenagers to Gatwick Airport.
I need my Kuga to be 100%

I love my Kuga and this is only my second issue (1st was radio/Bluetooth fault draining the battery- new radio fixed that).

Help Please.

Many thanks

Denise

·
The Detective.
2017 Titanium iAWD 2.0 Diesel
2,602 Posts
Welcome to the forum,,,I'm Sure someone here could help you.

Reactions: DVK

·
Super Moderator and Mr Grumpy
10,018 Posts