Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

Registered
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie trying to help daughter. 2017 1.5 TDCi with stop start button.

Last November the car failed to start on first really cold day and home breakdown diagnosed as dead battery. Battery replaced and no problems until now.

Last Tuesdaycar driven 60 miles stopped at local shop, car wouldn't start again. Recovery managed to restart but said alternator faulty.

Car at my daughter's home and cannot be restarted to get to me about 25 miles away ready to fit alternator in my garage. I am a home mechanic but limited experience on cars newer than 20yrs old! I can't get there because I have COVID at the moment.

My daughter has "charged" battery for 8 hours on cheap battery charger but she says never reaches full charge.

Been reading up and found that when a new battery is fitted you need to reset the BCM - I think there is a manual way of doing this but would like confirmation please. Also a friend who is not an expert thinks that the ECU may contain fault codes that is preventing the battery from accepting charge. I do have a cheap Foxwell OBD reader for an old VW I was working with a couple of years ago.

Any help/advice most appreciated. Thanks!

Super Moderator
Try this.

Super Moderator
Or use the search bar for more links. It鈥檚 BMS by the way.

The AA man told me it would auto reset after a while, although I did reset ours

Super Moderator
Dare I ask the leads are on right. .

Red to poz
Black to earth but not the battery pole.

Is the battery charger 12v and not 6v as well?

Super Moderator
Some chargers have the 6v 12v 24v option.

As to not taking charge. If the meter on the charger doesn鈥檛 go up much, then it maybe fully charged, then there is another issue.

Super Moderator and Mr Grumpy
AA man is wrong @Psshaw unless the car has a crystal ball or is super smart which it isn't yet.

Welcome to the forum @jaspernoonoo .