Ford Kuga Owners Club Forums banner

2010 Kuga - ECU

8K views 26 replies 7 participants last post by  Kuga2010.Individual 
#1 ·
My 2010 Kuga last week developed a fault on the dash "Power Steering Malfunction". Starts ok but takes ages to switch off. Once on, all of the dash lights (abs, handbrake etc) remain on. Steering is slightly heavier than usual but all works. Ford today have said the ECU needs replacing at £800. I had thought of upgrading it anyway, but cant now as cant seel it with the fault and also spending out that amount of money to not actually gain anything cost wise is a bitter pill. Can ECU's be bought and put on by independent garages I wonder? Or is this confusing as presume everything on the computer will need resetting? Sorry, I'm a tech novice and so confused.

#2 ·
A genuine Mk.1 ECU is around £400 plus fitting plus programming, so £800 is, sadly, not too far off the beat. A good independent will save you some cash but ensure that they have done a Kuga ECU and reprogramming before.

HOWEVER.....before you do anything, get the battery fully tested both idle and under load as a failing battery can throw up all kinds of weird faults including steering issues.

#3 ·
Hi Nigel - thank you for taking the time to come back to me - this is such wrong timing for me. The battery has been tested and was good I was told. I was going to exchange it for a new one, but actually now am stuck as whatever money spent on it wont be recovered.. really do appreciate your advice, thanks. Jason

#4 ·
There are a few posts on the steering wheel malfunction it happened to me once,,this what I wrote on one of the posts.